Skip to content

David and Kathryn White Undergraduate Teaching Award

Every three years Philosophy awards the David and Kathryn White Undergraduate Teaching Award. (The Award rotates between history, psychology and philosophy.) The Award recognizes excellence in undergraduate instruction by a tenured or tenure-stream faculty member. The winner is determined upon consultation with and input from the undergraduate majors.

Remarkably, there was significant support from majors for each of our tenured or tenure-stream faculty members. This is a strong indication that, like our lecturers and graduate student instructors, our tenured and tenure-stream faculty are delivering high quality undergraduate instruction. But in the end, the input from the majors favored recognizing one particular tenure-stream faculty member with this year's award.

I am pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2012 David and Kathryn White Undergraduate Teaching Award (in Philosophy) is Prof. David Palmer.

Please join me in congratulating David on and thanking him for his outstanding contributions to undergraduate instruction in the Department!

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.