Skip to content

Garthoff Receives Collaborative Research Award

Garthoff Receives Collaborative Research Award

The 2019 College of Arts and Sciences Faculty Awards banquet took place Thursday, December 5 at the Holiday Inn Downtown. From Diversity Leadership to awards in research, advising, and teaching, the annual awards banquet honors faculty excellence in all areas of the college mission.

“As we recognize particularly outstanding faculty this evening, I want to thank all of our faculty in the college, individually and collectively, for everything you do— your teaching, research, service on college and university committees, thesis committees, and tenure and promotion committees, and service to the public through community engagement,” said Theresa Lee, dean of the college and emcee for the awards ceremony. “A college can be no greater or stronger than its faculty and the College of Arts and Sciences is a college of excellence because each of you has a passion for our profession and you work selflessly to make our students, departments and university the best they can be.”

Jon Garthoff, associate professor of philosophy, along with colleagues Alex Bentley, professor and head of the Department of Anthropology, and Garriy Shteynberg, associate professor in the Department of Psychology, received the Interdepartmental Collaborative Scholarship and Research Award.

The recipients collaborated on a groundbreaking paper on how, when, and why people learn from one another. In their paper “A theory of collective learning: On the psychological foundations of common knowledge and cognitive collaboration” they argue that while learning from others has long been a cornerstone of social and biological sciences, learning with others has been underappreciated in terms of its importance to human cognition, cohesion and culture. The author’s thesis provides a psychological answer (Shteynberg) to a long-standing philosophical problem (Garthoff), with implications for human evolution (Bentley).

Congratulations Professor Garthoff on your award!

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.